In 1918, the Royal North West Mounted Police was assigned the duty of enforcing Dominion legislation for the whole of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William. Soon after the end of the First World War, an extension of governmental activities made it obvious that the enforcement of Dominion statutes throughout Canada must be the responsibility of a Dominion Force and, therefore, the jurisdiction of the Royal North West Mounted Police was extended to the whole of Canada early in 1920. In that year, the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the former Dominion Police with Headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were largely connected with guarding public buildings in that city and the Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Organization.—The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (the Minister of Justice). Its Commissioner has the rank and status of Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and for many years have been selected from serving non-commissioned officers. The Force is divided into 15 Divisions, including the Province of Newfoundland and the Marine Division, and has 470 Detachments distributed over the entire country. Its land force transportation consists of over 800 motor-vehicles, most of which are fitted with two-way radio sets connecting with wireless stations operated by the Force. Such stations operate in both western and eastern Canada including the Quebec-United States boundary area. Its air transport consists of seven aircraft of various types. The present (August, 1950) strength of the Force is approximately 3,500 officers and men, with a reserve strength of about 300. The reserve strength is located chiefly in the larger cities where men can be congregated easily and where instruction can be given in the evenings.

The Marine Division has a total strength of 213 officers and men and operates 21 ships of various kinds, the majority of which are located on the Atlantic Coast and on the Great Lakes. The R.C.M.P. schooner St. Roch, which has been used as a floating detachment in the Far North and as a supply ship to isolated detachments, is the only ship to navigate the Northwest Passage from east to west and from west to east. It was recently transferred from Esquimalt, B.C., to Halifax, N.S., via the Panama Canal, the only vessel to have circumnavigated the North American Continent.

The Personnel Branch of the R.C.M.P. has officers in each Division across the country. Great care is taken in the selection of recruits.

Duties.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police has the responsibility for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada and is specially empowered to deal with infractions against smuggling by sea, land and air. It also enforces the provisions of the Excise Act, and is responsible for the suppression of traffic in narcotic drugs. In all, the Force has responsibility in over 50 Federal Government Acts including the Indian Act. It also assists many departments of the Federal Government in administrative duties and is responsible for the protection of government buildings and property and some of the more important dockyards. It is the sole police force operating in the Northwest Territories and Yukon. Furthermore, it undertakes secret and security services for the Federal Government. In addition to its federal duties, the Force has agreements with the Provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island, whereby the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police can be secured to enforce provincial laws and the Criminal Code in rural districts upon payment for